The Beginning of a Worldwide Adventure

I want to start off by saying thanks to anyone who is reading this blog post. Thanks for finding my blog and for being willing to embark on an adventure with me. Even though 2015 is set to be a year of non-stop passport stamps, I am glad to know I have family and friends alongside me for this wild ride.

As some, if not all, of you know, I am heading to Quito, Ecuador in just five short days. As a co-op student at Northeastern University, I will be taking a semester off from my coursework to work full-time at the U.S. Embassy in Quito. I will be in the Political Section, though I am still a bit unsure of what exactly I will be doing! Right now I am considering joining the U.S. Foreign Service after graduation and hope that this experience gives me a firsthand look of what life as a diplomat would be like.

I am beyond excited to be back in South America. My family traveled to Ecuador six years ago and we had a blast traversing the Andes, the Amazon and the equator. I can’t wait to visit places we saw on that trip as well as cities we never got to (I’d love to go to the Galapagos, but I’m not sure how realistic that dream is). I’m really looking forward to breaking out my Spanish again, though I know it’s a bit rusty (I haven’t used it since living in Mexico in 2010!). I’m pretty sure once I’m surrounded by the sounds and culture of Latin America, the language skills will come rushing back (at least that’s what I’m hoping!).

I’ll be in Ecuador for about four months, though I would love to travel outside of the country during my time in South America (hiking Machu Picchu in Peru is on my bucket list). I promise to share the good, the bad, and the ugly of working and living abroad as a college student (and I guarantee I’ll work myself into some pretty laughable situations).

I urge you to reach out and ask questions about my experiences and adventures! I’ll try and include as much information and detail as I can (but I’ll try and keep it concise, don’t worry), but I’m sure there will be days where I forget.

I hope you’ll join me on this adventure!

Un abrazo,

Rose

PS. Coming up in 2015: Ecuador, India, the Republic of Georgia, Turkey, and Germany – join me!

Leave a Reply

